The Colorado Catholic Conference SUPPORTS House Bill 1037 – Religious Freedom for Student Groups at State Institutions of Higher Education. The bill achieves freedom of association for religious student organizations and protects the right of those campus groups to choose leaders who share their core beliefs. All college students merit the right to freely organize around shared and sincerely held religious beliefs without fear that the institution of higher education they are attending will require the religious student group to accept all students as leaders, regardless of whether or not they agree with the group’s mission and core beliefs. As Catholics and Americans we believe that at the heart of a democratic society lies religious freedom, the nation’s first constitutional freedom – granted by God and guaranteed as an inalienable right by the Founding Fathers and we must work together to make sure that freedom thrives and is protected.

House Bill 1037 will be heard in the House Education Committee on Monday February 9, 2015 in Room 107 at 1:30 p.m.

ACTION: Please call your State Representative and the members of the House Education committee and ask them to
SUPPORT House Bill 1037.

TO READ HOUSE BILL 1037 CLICK HERE

TO FIND YOUR REPRESENTATIVE CLICK HERE

HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE – 11 MEMBERS

Rep. John Buckner D HD 40 Chair
303-866-2944
john.buckner.house@state.co.us

Rep. Brittany Pettersen D HD 28 Vice Chair
303-866-2939
brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us

Rep. Justin Everett R HD 22
303-866-2927
justin.everett.house@state.co.us

Rep. Rhonda Fields D HD 42
303-866-3911
rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us

Rep. Alec Garnett D HD 2
303-866-2346
alec.garnett.house@state.co.us

Rep. Pete Lee D HD 18
303-866-2932
pete.lee.house@state.co.us

Rep. Paul Lundeen R HD 19
303-866-2924
paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us

Rep. Dominick Moreno D HD 32
303-866-2964
dominick.moreno.house@state.co.us

Rep. Kevin Priola R HD 56
303-866-2912
kpriola@gmail.com

Rep. Jim Wilson R HD 60
303-866-2747
james.wilson.house@state.co.us

Rep. JoAnn Windholz R HD 30
303-866-2945
joann.windholz.house@state.co.us