House Bill 1054 seeks to legalize physician assisted suicide.  A law allowing assisted suicide would demean the lives of vulnerable patients and expose them to exploitation by those who feel they are better off dead. Such a policy would corrupt the medical profession, whose ethical code calls on physicians to serve life and never to kill.  The voiceless or marginalized in our society – the poor, the frail elderly, and racial minorities would be the first to feel pressure to die.

The Colorado Catholic Conference OPPOSES this legislation.

This bill will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee on Thursday, February 4th at 1:30 p.m. , in House Committee room 112.

Please contact your Representative and the members of the Judiciary Committee and ask them to OPPOSE House Bill 1054 which would legalize physician assisted suicide in Colorado.

To see a video from Archbishop Aquila on this important issue, please CLICK HERE

TO FIND YOUR LEGISLATOR CLICK HERE

TO READ HB 1054 CLICK HERE

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Rep. Daniel Kagan           D            HD 3       Chair

303-866-2921

repkagan@gmail.com

 

Rep. Pete Lee                    D            HD 18     Vice Chair

303-866-2932

pete.lee.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Terri Carver                              R             HD 20

303-866-2191

terri.carver.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Lois Court                  D            HD 6

303-866-2967

lois.court.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Tim Dore                    R             HD 64

303-866-2398

tim.dore.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Mike Foote                D            HD 12

303-866-2920

mike.foote.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Polly Lawrence        R             HD 39

303-866-2935

polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Paul Lundeen           R             HD 19

303-866-2924

paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Jovan Melton

303-866-2919
jovan.melton.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Joe Salazar               D            HD 31

303-866-2918

joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Yeulin Willett             R             HD 54

303-866-2583

yeulin.willett.house@state.co.us