Senate Bill 25 and House Bill 1054 seek to legalize physician assisted suicide.   Any law allowing assisted suicide would demean the lives of vulnerable patients and expose them to exploitation by those who feel they are better off dead. Such a policy would corrupt the medical profession, whose ethical code calls on physicians to serve life and never to kill.  The voiceless or marginalized in our society – the poor, the frail elderly, and racial minorities would be the first to feel pressure to die.

The Colorado Catholic Conference OPPOSES SB 25 and HB 1054.

SB 25 will be heard in the Senate State Veterans and Military Affairs Committee on Wednesday, February 3 at 1:30 p.m., in Senate Committee Room 356.  Committee listed below.

HB 1054 will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee on Thursday, February 4th at 1:30 p.m., in House Committee Room 271.  Committee listed below.

Please contact your State Representative and State Senator as well as the House Judiciary Committee and the Senate State Veterans and Military Affairs Committee and ask them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 25 & House Bill 1054 which would legalize physician assisted suicide in Colorado.

To see a video from Archbishop Aquila and get more information on physician assisted suicide, please CLICK HERE         In Spanish please CLICK HERE

To see a video from Bishop Sheridan and get more information on physician assisted suicide, please CLICK HERE

TO FIND YOUR LEGISLATOR CLICK HERE

TO READ SB 25 CLICK HERE

TO READ HB 1054 CLICK HERE

 

SENATE  STATE VETERANS & MILITARY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Sen. Ray Scott   R      SD 7     Chair

303-866-3077

ray.scott.senate@state.co.us

 

Sen. Jerry Sonnenberg   R     SD 1     Vice-Chair

303-866-6360

senatorsonnenberg@gmail.com

 

Sen. Owen Hill R        SD 10

303-866-2737

owen.hill.senate@state.co.us

 

Sen. Matt Jones  D     SD17

303-866-5291

senatormattjones@gmail.com

 

Sen. Jessie Ulibarri  D     SD 21

303-866-4857

jessie.ulibarri.senate@state.co.us

 

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Rep. Daniel Kagan           D            HD 3       Chair

303-866-2921

repkagan@gmail.com

 

Rep. Pete Lee                    D            HD 18     Vice Chair

303-866-2932

pete.lee.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Terri Carver                              R             HD 20

303-866-2191

terri.carver.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Lois Court                  D            HD 6

303-866-2967

lois.court.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Tim Dore                    R             HD 64

303-866-2398

tim.dore.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Mike Foote                D            HD 12

303-866-2920

mike.foote.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Polly Lawrence        R             HD 39

303-866-2935

polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Paul Lundeen           R             HD 19

303-866-2924

paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Jovan Melton           D            HD 41

303-866-2919
jovan.melton.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Joe Salazar               D            HD 31

303-866-2918

joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Yeulin Willett             R             HD 54

303-866-2583

yeulin.willett.house@state.co.us