SB 16 – 154 Income Tax Credits for Nonpublic Education

The Colorado Catholic Conference SUPPORTS SB 154 – Concerning the creation of income tax credits for nonpublic education.   The bill establishes a private school tuition income tax credit for income tax years commencing on or after January 1, 2017, that allows any taxpayer to claim a credit when a private school issues the taxpayer a credit certificate for enrolling a dependent qualified child in the private school or for offering a scholarship to a qualified child for enrollment in the private school.

Senate Bill 154 is scheduled to be heard in the House Education Committee on Monday, May 2, 2016 in room 112 at 1:30 p.m.

ACTION: Please contact the members of the House Education Committee and ask them to SUPPORT SB 154.

 

TO READ SB 154    CLICK HERE

 

House Education:  11 members

 

Rep. Brittany Pettersen    Chair

HD 28     Democrat

303-866-2939

brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Pete Lee     Vice-Chair

HD 18     Democrat

303-866-2932

pete.lee.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Janet Buckner

HD 40     Democrat

303-866-2944

janet.buckner.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Justin Everett

HD 22     Republican

303-866-2927

justin.everett.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Rhonda Fields

HD 42     Democrat

303-866-3911

rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Alec Garnett

HD 2       Democrat

303-866-2346

alec.garnett.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Paul Lundeen

HD 19     Republican

303-866-2924

paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Dominick Moreno

HD 32     Democrat

303-866-2964

dominick.moreno.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. Kevin Priola

HD 56     Republican

303-866-2912

kpriola@gmail.com

 

Rep. Jim Wilson

HD 60     Republican

303-866-2747

james.wilson.house@state.co.us

 

Rep. JoAnn Windholz

HD 30     Republican

303-866-2945

joann.windholz.house@state.co.us

 

 


 

House Bill 1388 – Employer Hiring Criminal History Employee

This bill would prevent prospective employers from banning candidates in the initial stage of the application process based solely on the presence of a criminal history.  After an offender has paid his or her debt to society, our criminal justice system should seek to rehabilitate the offender and facilitate his or her re-entry into society.  The offender should not be further punished by collateral consequences such as being denied access to work.  Unfortunately, some employers disqualify applicants based on a job applicant’s criminal history inquiry without asking further questions about reform, capability or fitness.  As Pope Francis has reminded us on several occasions “our system of civil justice, if it is to be humane, must incorporate mercy and forgiveness into its policies – never as an abrogation of justice, but as its fulfillment.”

The Colorado Catholic Conference SUPPORTS this legislation.

HB 1388 will be heard in the Senate State Veterans and Military Affairs Committee on Wednesday, May 4, 2016 at 1:30 in Room 271.

ACTION: Please contact the Senate State Veterans and Military Affairs Committee and ask them to support HB 1388.

 

TO READ HB 1388 CLICK HERE

 

Senate State, Veterans, and Military Affairs – 5 Members
Sen. Ray Scott                   Chair

SD 7       Republican

303-866-3077

ray.scott.senate@state.co.us

 

Sen. Jerry Sonnenberg     Vice-Chair

SD 1       Republican

303-866-6360

senatorsonnenberg@gmail.com

 

Sen. Owen Hill

SD 10     Republican

303-866-2737

owen.hill.senate@state.co.us

 

Sen. Matt Jones

SD17      Democrat

303-866-5291

senatormattjones@gmail.com

 

Sen. Jessie Ulibarri

SD 21     Democrat

303-866-4857

jessie.ulibarri.senate@state.co.us